Maximise your Avios, air miles and hotel points

Forums Frequent flyer programs British Airways Executive Club Mini tier point run advice

• kevind 46 posts

I have booked a Club Europe flight from Dublin to London City on Tuesday, just to get a few cheap tier points to bring me up to Silver. I arrive in LCY at 5.30pm and depart LCY at 8.30pm. I don’t think it is the same aircraft for the both legs though.

I know I’m taking a bit of a gamble with delays and cancellations etc. but I was wondering what happens if my outbound leg is delayed and I miss the “return”. Do I have to make my own way back to Dublin or is there any obligation on BA? Again, what happens if my outbound leg from Dublin is delayed several hours, meaning that I would be leaving Dublin KNOWING I will miss my return flight?

All advice welcome guys as I’m relatively new to the game.

Thanks

Richie 989 posts

If the flights are on the same ticket, then you may be ok.

Matt 323 posts

If they are booked separately then you are probably on your own for the return. It would be worth asking BA to help, but they are under no obligation to. You would have got to LCY on ticket one, so the end of their contract with you, and you would have failed to turn up for ticket 2.

If you know you’ll miss your flight back before you leave (and it’s separate bookings) then you need to check your options for getting back. If there’s a cheap way back you could catch then go for it. If there isn’t then abandon the trip and don’t get on the plane. You would need to decide what’s cheap in that situation.

• This reply was modified 54 years, 4 months ago by .
    ChrisC 956 posts

The fact that @kevind used “return” within quotes indicates to me that these are two separate bookings.

Perhaps he can confirm what the actual booking / bookings are.

In which case BA don’t have to do anything if he does miss the LCY-DUB flight,