Maximise your Avios, air miles and hotel points

Forums Frequent flyer programs British Airways Executive Club One Companion Voucher for family of 5

• aab203 7 posts

Hello,

I am brand new to the world of companion vouchers but thought I would give it a go this year. I’ve just hit my CV threshold with Amex Premium Plus (it hasn’t officially come through yet and I’ve already realised I should probably have waited until later in the year to trigger it due to when I want to fly!).

I have been reading around (mainly here – https://www.headforpoints.com/2024/01/03/how-do-british-airways-american-express-2-4-1-vouchers-work-2/) and think I have a decent understanding of how the practicalities of redemption work.

What I am looking for is some advice / strategies for how I can book a trip in practice with a family of five (2 adults, 3 kids)

For a bit of background, last year we travelled to Orlando for the first time. To save some money I booked the flights (business class) from Dublin to Orlando (via Gatwick). We live in London so I had to book a separate one-way flight from Gatwick to Dublin the night before. On the return leg I chose flights such that the London->Dublin part was from Heathrow… meaning I knew I would be able to get our bags in Gatwick and then head straight home.

I am wondering whether I would still need to replicate this journey or now, with the use of a companion voucher, I should look to book from London->Orlando in summer 2025 (possible summer 2026 could be an alternative option, but now that I’ve triggered the CV I think that will fall out of my 2-yr window!). Or maybe from another UK city instead (like Manchester?).