Coronavirus: Qatar Airways policy clarification, South Africa, Australia, Kenya, Lebanon and Dominican Republic restrictions

Links on Head for Points may pay us an affiliate commission. A list of partners is here.

As we ran a number of articles last week on countries blocking entry for UK citizens, I thought I would do another update.  This may become academic given that British Airways will be grounding most of its services from the start of April, but it helps if you are travelling short term.

These are NOT comprehensive lists.  We have been focusing on those places where readers are most likely to visit.  I strong recommend checking the latest advice via this page of the Foreign Office website.

Qatar and Qatar Airways

There appears to be quite a bit of confusion about what is happening with Qatar Airways.  I have seen various articles saying ‘Flights to Doha are cancelled’.  This is not true.  What IS true is that non-Qatari residents cannot leave Doha Airport and enter the country from 18th March.

Transit passengers are not impacted unless they intended to have a stopover in Doha.  Your flight will operate as usual.  If you had a stopover arranged, you will be rebooked to travel straight through.

Details are on the Qatar Airways website here.

Coronavirus and South Africa entry ban

Coronavirus and South Africa

Residents of ‘high risk’ countries, or anyone who has visited such a country in the last 20 days, will be banned from entering South Africa from Wednesday 18th March.

The list of countries includes the UK, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, the United States and China.

South African citizens returning from such countries will be subject to testing and/or quarantine.

Official statement here.

Coronavirus and Australia

Coronavirus and Australia

Australia is imposing a two-week quarantine period on ALL international arrivals from all countries.

Foreign Office advice is here.

Coronavirus and Kenya

Coronavirus and Kenya

Kenya has announced a 14-day ban on non-nationals and non-residents entering the country from any country impacted by coronavirus.  This is due to take effect on Tuesday.

The Foreign Office recommends against ‘all but essential’ travel to Kenya.  This may help with arranging a refund via your travel insurance.

Anyone who does qualify for entry must under quarantine for 14 days.

Source information here.

Coronavirus and Lebanon

Coronavirus and Lebanon

From 19th March to 29th March, Beirut Airport will close to all commercial traffic.

All individuals in Lebanon have been told to remain at home and not venture outside except in extreme circumstances.

Source information here.

Cap Cana beach, Dominican republic

Coronavirus and Dominican Republic

All flights from Europe to the Dominican Republic were suspended from this morning for at least 28 days.

Anyone who enters via another route but has been in Europe during the previous 14 days will be subject to quarantine on arrival.

The Foreign Office is advising against ‘all but essential travel’ which may help with insurance claims.

Source document here.

Virgin Atlantic to ground up to 85% of its aircraft and cancel 80% of its flights
IAG, BA's parent, to cut flights across the group by 75% in April and May

Click here to join the 14,500 people on our email list and receive the latest Avios, miles and points news by 6am.

Amazon ad
AMEX Gold 20,000 bonus points
About Head for Points

We help business and leisure travellers maximise their Avios, frequent flyer miles and hotel loyalty points. Visit every day for three new articles or sign up for our FREE emails via this page or the box to your right.


  1. France and Schengen in lockdown as of tomorrow noon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please click here to read our data protection policy before submitting your comment.