Maximise your Avios, air miles and hotel points

Forums Frequent flyer programs British Airways Executive Club Companion Voucher – BA Struggle

• Makazi 3 posts

Hi All,

New to this so please be kind. This is a bit of a two parter, any help, suggestions etc. would be welcome as this is my first time playing with BA companion vouchers.

I have two basic BA companion vouchers (one held over multiple years due to Covid) due to expire 29th June and 4th July respectively.

I’ve been looking to book a London Heathrow – Nairobi Kenya flight (outbound preferably the 8th June) since the start of the year but have had a ‘zero flights available on this route’ message when using the reward flight finder every time I’ve looked. – Found out yesterday that this is a bug with the BA app and the finder doesn’t actually work. I’ve now checked online and it looks that there aren’t any seats for BA companion vouchers.

I’ve searched without using vouchers and there are still economy seats on BA flights that day – Is there any hope of being able to use our companion vouchers, anyone I could speak to at BA and attempt to woo, or are these doomed to expire unused?

Second part is slightly broader. Now that I’ve begun looking for paid flights it seems that BA advertise different prices depending on when/how you look, is this normal?
    e.g. I started looing yesterday and found Business Low tier tickets LH to Nairobi 8th June – 24th July in various permutations. But booking via App was £200-300 less expensive for the exact same ticket than via laptop. Now looking today both app and Laptop are £200-300 more expensive than yesterday, surely tickets cannot increase that much in a day? I’m wondering if this is due to cookies etc. / interest from this IP address and if I clear them / search from elsewhere I can find reduced tickets again?

Thanks in advance, I realise that was a ramble.

marks7389 425 posts