Maximise your Avios, air miles and hotel points

Forums Frequent flyer programs British Airways Executive Club Help extending a BA Amex 241 voucher [by turning it into an FTV]

• Geoggy 41 posts

Hi

Between my wife and I we have 3 241 BAPP vouchers expiring in 3 months, 5 months and 6 months respectively.

As I am CV I won’t be able to use them in time.

I have read about booking a domestic with them, then cancelling?

I’m not an expert on this stuff and am self taught due to this site.

Has anyone got 2 minutes to give me some Peter & Jane steps to do it with all 3 vouchers?

Thanks

NorthernLass 7,583 posts

This is the kind of thing which needs a dedicated thread!

Book a cheap award flight, e.g. LHR-JER with the 241. Once you have your booking confirmed, use the link on the home page of ba.com (called something like “covid options”) which will give you the option to cancel the booking for a Future Travel Voucher. Follow the instructions and you will shortly get an email confirming the cancellation and voucher issue. Repeat with the other 241s.

Remember when you come to re-book that you have to call BA and the same passengers have to travel, so you may want to consider who the 2nd person on each booking is going to be. There have to be avios seats available on your new booking, but you don’t need to stick with the original destination. The emails are your vouchers, so keep them safe with your original confirmations so you can give BA the details when you call to rebook.

Geoggy 41 posts

Thank you.

Do I do all 3 now or wait until they are about to expire? i.e. will it add time to the FTV or have they all got a set end date?

Sean Mc 66 posts

Set date

Aston100 1,383 posts

I wonder if they’ll extend ftv validity beyond September 23?

NorthernLass 7,583 posts