Maximise your Avios, air miles and hotel points

Forums Other Destination advice Larnaca area of Cyprus

• memesweeper 1,244 posts

Normally I research an area and then travel, already with a clear idea of what to do.

In about ten days I’m breaking the mould and going somewhere with very little idea what to do (I’m actually going to an event for two of the six days). The destination is Larnaca, Cyprus. I’d be happy enough lounging at the poolside in the Indigo where I’m staying, but if there’s anything you think I ought to check out please feel free to let me know.

Tocsin 60 posts

If you’re interested in wildlife, it should be a good time for autumn bird migrations through Cyprus and Larnaca salt lake is a good spot. (I’m no expert, just research for Mrs T from one of our C-19 cancelled holidays).

memesweeper 1,244 posts

If you’re interested in wildlife, it should be a good time for autumn bird migrations through Cyprus and Larnaca salt lake is a good spot. (I’m no expert, just research for Mrs T from one of our C-19 cancelled holidays).

I’ll take some bins — thanks!

Gagravarr 62 posts

Take the bus up to Nicosia, and visit the Cyprus Museum for some amazing history.

Bring your passport, and walk across over to the Turkish side. A lot cheaper, and feels like you’ve walked back in time a bit!

If you hire a car, there’s some amazing archaeological sites about, though a few of the best sites are on the Turkish side and talking a hire car over the border can be a bit fiddly.

can 506 posts

I heard that if you get your passport stamped by the Turks [in Cyprus], entering Greece can be problematic later on — turks being occupier and all.. Is that right?

memesweeper 1,244 posts

I heard that if you get your passport stamped by the Turks [in Cyprus], entering Greece can be problematic later on — turks being occupier and all.. Is that right?