Maximise your Avios, air miles and hotel points

Forums Payment cards American Express Travel cards alongside AMEX; credit limit thoughts

• comeocome 43 posts

I wonder what travel cards do you guys have apart from AMEX, which has notoriously high FX fees? I’m new to the country by the way…

Also, any thoughts on the credit limit based on previous country’s credit history (the global expat programme).

Gary_Dexter 130 posts

When travelling outside the UK?

Halifax Clarity.

You’d have a new credit history coming to the UK so you’d be starting from scratch.

John 1,000 posts

What was your previous country, if possible, keeping credit cards from that country may be more useful for spending abroad, provided you also have some savings from there. With the GBP being so low I don’t want to spend GBP outside the UK right now (though it may go even lower).

I have some USD cards and even if they charged a 5% FX fee I would be happy with that at the moment… though the important thing is also having USD to pay off those cards, obviously, if I had to pay them off in GBP that wouldn’t be useful.

But I’ve linked my foreign cards to Curve so there are no fees up to a limit anyway – however Curve won’t let you link non-EEA cards any more.

I also have Halifax Clarity, but with no UK credit history, you might want to look into Revolut, Monzo, Starling, Chase (current accounts) which have no FX fees, with some limits.

Maples 188 posts

I just plan on using my backup card (Barclaycard Avios) abroad with Curve Blue. £1000 abroad per month with no fees as I believe it.

SteveJ 979 posts

I just plan on using my backup card (Barclaycard Avios) abroad with Curve Blue. £1000 abroad per month with no fees as I believe it.

£1,000 is just the summer 2022 offer, it’s normally only £500 per month fee free on curve.

Reney 766 posts