Maximise your Avios, air miles and hotel points

Forums Hotel loyalty schemes IHG One Rewards Luton Airport HIX Cash vs Points & Cash?

• ExpatInBerlin 186 posts

IHG newbie here. Booked on an eyewatering 07:10 midweek flight from LTN to RMO for a wedding in June so want to book a hotel within walking distance to the terminal the night before. I’ve read the reviews on here and it seems that the HIX is the best option given our very early start. The HIX cash price is £106 (non-refundable) or £125 (refundable) or there is a cash and points option. I only have 17,062 IHG points so not enough for the points-only redemption of 27,000 points, the nearest option for me is 17,000 points + £47 which seems like a poor use of points. Please can someone remind me how many points per £ I would be earning if I booked on the cash rate? I’m IHG Silver Elite but have never booked direct with IHG and my only stay with them (at the IC Estoril) was booked via Amex FHR and I was lucky to still get credited the points. I’d like to get better value for the points just not sure when I would next use them and whether it’s better to just take the £59 saving on the non-refundable option! Thoughts from IHG veterans please?

Rich_A 92 posts

You’d earn 12 points per USD (10 base, 2 silver), based on the price excluding tax.

So something like 1332 points for the non-refundable rate. More if there are any promotions running at the time.

Cash & points rate is equivalent to the refundable rate. But if you would book the non-refundable rate, you should compare to that.

Aim for better than 0.4p per point if you’re spending points. Probably only good value here if you would be booking the refundable rate.

Lady London 2,054 posts