Maximise your Avios, air miles and hotel points

Forums Payment cards American Express Newbie to Avios and BAPP – best use of potential Avios points?

• omariqy 29 posts

Hi guys

Bear with me as I am a complete novice to this all. I have recently signed up for the 70k Avios bonus for both me and the wife. So we should have 140k total in 3 months time. At present we are debating what to do thereafter. We could easily spend £10k each on our respective cards based on expected spends for the house and holidays. Therefore, conceivably we could end up with c180k worth of Avios points and 2 companion vouchers by the end of the card year. We are a family of 5 – 2 adults and 3 children aged between 2 and 8. A few questions:

1. Given our family size – does it make sense to carry on to get the companion vouchers and pay the £250 fee each
    2. If so – what would be the best way to maximise the points and vouchers we may end up with? Is 180k enough or would we need to build up more?

I am slightly concerned that as we have 5 in our family then its that much more difficult to make full use of the vouchers and find the seats we need etc.

The Savage Squirrel 570 posts

Welcome omariqy

First thing is to assess how frequently you travel. One of the most useful features of the BAPP voucher is that it has 24 month expiry. This means that when your 2nd year voucher hits you have the option to fly 4 of you on two vouchers generated by just one card – all on a single booking – so first of all consider whether 2 cards serves your purposes.

The BEST way to “maximise” points/vouchers is to go somewhere you really want to go. Don’t get too hung up on how many Avios your voucher has saved; short-haul is a very valid use. However if you really want to maximise then we’re talking long-haul business travel.