Maximise your Avios, air miles and hotel points

• Gammel 14 posts

Looking at an AKL-SYD-LAX booking in November. The SYD ‘layover’ is a paltry 70 minutes. That seems undoable to me but maybe some SYD experts could chime in?

ChrisA 12 posts

I’m no expert, but when I landed there in 2017, I was on a train to the centre 25 mins after landing.

Matt 323 posts

If it’s all on one booking then it will (probably!) be fine, and even if it isn’t you’ll be sorted out by the airline.

Lyn 188 posts

Hopefully someone with more expertise can answer this. There are several experts on Australia here.

If not, there are a couple of Australian frequent flyer web-sites like Executive Traveller which may have more information.

I assume that flights from Auckland arrive in the International Terminal at SYD, which is where the flight to LAX will depart. So hopefully you will be connecting within the same terminal. (The domestic terminal is separate and takes a while to get to).

I don’t know if you have to go through Australian Immigration for a direct ibternational-to-international connection. If not, this could be one of the reasons for what seems like a short connection. Even so, I’m not sure I’d be comfortable with it before such a long flight.

Gammel 14 posts

Thanks. It seems a fraught situation with the presumed need to go through immigration being the main worry. As Matt noted I expect and hope Qantas would sort it.

The thought did occur that since we’re on a full flex booking I could change the SYD-LAX leg to a day or two later, yeah?

NorthernLass 7,590 posts

@Gammel, some years ago now but when we flew LHR-SYD-WLG on a single booking we had to go through immigration and security at SYD. It might be a different coming from NZ though, as I know the two countries have specific travel agreements with each other. And I am in no way an expert!

• This reply was modified 54 years, 4 months ago by .
    u07ch 63 posts