Maximise your Avios, air miles and hotel points

Forums Payment cards Other payment cards Is converting NatWest Rewards to Avios good value?

• cska 55 posts

Just been made aware but until recently hadn’t realised that Natwest MyRewards can be redeemed for Avios at a rate of £10 rewards = 1170 Avios. Just wanted people’s perspectives on this. It would take 2 months (at a cost to me of £2/month) to earn enough to convert to 1170 Avios on the most basic rewards account so seemingly you are purchasing Avios at 0.34p per point.

Converting to Nectar would provide worse than £10 of cash value however there would seem to me to be a small opportunity here? Would love others’ thoughts as I am new to this game!

Luca M 391 posts

I do not think it is great but no bad either, it gets better with larger denomination so better to wait to exchange £20 at once then twice £10.

I do this anyway (RBS rewards, exactly same product from the different brand of the same group). And it all adds up

John 1,000 posts

You are not purchasing avios at 0.34p if you ever spend money at Waitrose / Morrisons / Argos or the other retailers offered. Furthermore, you can cash the money out to bank, which gives a base rate of 0.851p per avios already.

If you spend money at Waitrose, you’re giving up 0.887p of gift card for every 1 avios you get this way.

For Argos, you get £2.63 of gift card for every £ of account fee you pay if you redeem directly, but if you go via avios you only get £2.35 of gift card for every £ of account fee.

Now if you’re happy to buy avios at 0.9p then go for it obviously.

I do not think it is great but no bad either, it gets better with larger denomination so better to wait to exchange £20 at once then twice £10.

Well you get 10 avios more for converting £20 of reward cash than 2x £10, but yes you might as well.

cska 55 posts