Maximise your Avios, air miles and hotel points

Forums Payment cards Other payment cards Paying HMRC (and others) and getting points – beginners explanation please

• Talay 31 posts

Had Curve since the beginning but put it in a drawer since Amex went away. Now thinking whether I can use it for HMRC and how ?

I have read about Creation shutting accounts down. I have an old Marriott Mastercard from them so won’t be risking that.

But I have a fistful of other cards with various 5 digit limits what could be used.

I routinely pay PAYE, VAT, Corporation Tax, business rates and loads of direct debits that I’d love to earn something.

Can someone just give me the simple, straightforward options and limits please. Thanks.

toddy 113 posts

If you have Curve Metal, you can pay HMRC £10k per calendar month, without any fees.

Anything above £10k has a 1.5% fee

Carlos 758 posts

Check the curve website. Everything is answered there. Seriously

Rob
    HfP Staff
    2,229 posts

Check the curve website. Everything is answered there. Seriously

Where is the list of underlying Visa / Mastercards who won’t give points for HMRC transactions? I think that’s the only thing people are bothered about.

We know that HSBC no longer gives points on HMRC transactions via Curve, for example. I would imagine some card providers have also chosen to treat such payments as cash advances.

RobL 73 posts

I suggest people try their card and see what happens rather than publishing a list of cards.

Talay 31 posts

I suggest people try their card and see what happens rather than publishing a list of cards.

Yeah, let’s pay HMRC £10k and see if we get hit for a £299 cash advance fee and lunatic interest from day one plus a black mark on your credit file for technically withdrawing cash on your credit card.

Or publish the list.

Do you really think the financial institutions don’t know ?

SteveJ 975 posts

Wow, how very entitled of you.

can 506 posts